Other Side of the Story

dance-1-reduced-size.jpg

             As I was scanning through my old files, I found this beautiful artwork of Sir Pierre Auguste Renoire entitled, “Country Dance.” It shows a man and a lady dancing together. The artwork clearly explains the intimate moment between two wealthy couple. It also shows the love and wonderful evening the couple has. But observe the artwork closely; you can see a peeping lady gazing at the couple. It’s a lonely lady who wishes that she was the one dancing around the gentleman, a lonely lady who longs to be in the position of the beautiful woman. But she knows too well that it’ll never happen. It will always be a pathetic dream only.

            Sir Renoire’s Country Dance will always be my favourite artwork because it portrays the affection between the couple and the point of view of the peeping lady. The artwork held so much emotions and messages.

            Why am I talking about this? Why am I giving so much attention to the peeping lady? Because I believe that everyone deserves a happily ever after.

            Did you ever realize that Anastasia and Grazella deserve also a Prince Charming?

            Do you realize that the shadow can be in a spotlight too?

            Do you realize that the antagonist can be a protagonist too?

            Do you realize that the beast can be a prince too?

            Do you realize that the ugly is a pretty person too?

            Do you realize that one who hid in the background can be the main character too?

            Do you realize that a whore, slut, and prostitute deserve a full respect too?

            Do you realize that the side-kick can be the hero too?

            Do you realize that a peasant can be a royal too?

            Do you realize the emotion and longing beneath the face full of mask?

            Do you ever realize the point of view of the other side of the story?

            It always bothered me that the pretty, flawless princesses in fairy tale always get happy endings. But, let’s face it, not everybody is perfect or pretty in real lives. It sometimes send wrong message to kids who are aware of their flaws. So, what about those so called bad guys or side characters? It isn’t their fault that they don’t look like those royalties. Are they really the bad guys or the unfortunate ones? What’s their story? No one really paid attention to them after the story ends. No one bother to write their very own story- what exactly made them bad in details. It’s also the same in real person, I want you all to realize that they are also human who have emotions that longs for some affections. They are also a human being who wants other people to know and understand their point of view. I want other people to open up their minds that you can still find love even with all your flaws. After all, everyone deserves chances in happily ever after. No one is exemption on that wonderful experience.

            If only people can see the pain beneath those eyes. If only people realized that there is so much to them than a shell where people can see. I didn’t say that those pretty, perfect princesses should not get happy endings. What I’m trying to portray is a happy ending for everyone especially the people of the other side of the story.

            I know that when I get my deserve love from someone, he’s going to get me a happily ever after. It sure wasn’t the kind I wished for but I will never exchange it for anything else in the world, maybe because it’s better. It will not be perfect but it is what you called imperfectly perfect. I will surely not going to let anything else steal this. It is my own story; my own messed up fairy-tale after all. And that is more than enough for me.

~LunaShea

23 thoughts on “Other Side of the Story

Leave a Reply

